Skip to main content

Translational Research Grants Scheme

Funds research projects that will translate into better patient outcomes, health service delivery, and population health and wellbeing

Dr Matt Johansen, Tuberculosis researcher at Centenary Institute

The Office for Health and Medical Research has completed consultations with stakeholders about streamlining processes for the Translational Research Grants Scheme and is now developing TRGS Round 7.

Updates to TRGS Round 7 will be outlined in applicant guidelines, which will be released when expressions of interest (EOIs) open on 15 February 2023.

Save the Date: TRGS Round 7 Webinar

We will also host an information webinar on 20 February 2023 to outline the process for TRGS Round 7, provide essential information about developing applications and how to engage with key statewide agencies and Ministry of Health branches.

An indicative timeline for TRGS Round 7 is outlined below.

Key dates

Milestone Date
EOIs open 15 February 2023
Information webinar for TRGS Coordinators and potential applicants 20 February 2023
EOIs due to TRGS Coordinator in each Host Organisation (see contact list below) 22 May 2023
EOIs close: due to Ministry of Health 19 June 2023
Applicants notified of EOI outcome
Full applications open
30 November 2023
Full applications due to TRGS Coordinator in each Host Organisation (see contact list below) 2 February 2024
Full applications close: due to Ministry of Health 16 February 2024
Applicants notified of full application outcome May 2024
Projects Commence June – July 2024

 

TRGS Coordinator List

Name Email Host Organisation
Dr Katherine Bolton CCLHD-Research@health.nsw.gov.au CCLHD
Pamela Illingworth Pamela.Illingworth@health.nsw.gov.au FWLHD
Dr Kathryn Reilly kathryn.reilly@health.nsw.gov.au HNELHD
Anna Pryor ISLHD-ResearchGovernance@health.nsw.gov.au ISLHD
Dr Julia Bowman Julia.Bowman@health.nsw.gov.au JHFMHN
Michelle Eason michelle.eason@health.nsw.gov.au
Sharlene Goodhew Sharlene.Goodhew@health.nsw.gov.au
Barbara Taylor Barbara.Taylor@health.nsw.gov.au MLHD
Nicole Raschke Nicole.Raschke@health.nsw.gov.au MNCLHD
Christina Whitehead Christina.Whitehead@health.nsw.gov.au NBMLHD
Dr Kelly Thompson Kelly.Thompson1@health.nsw.gov.au
Dr Alexandre Stephens Alexandre.Stephens@health.nsw.gov.au NNSWLHD
Rebeka Freckleton rebeka.freckleton@health.nsw.gov.au NSLHD
Sandra Ware Sandra.ware@health.nsw.gov.au NSW Ambulance
Dr Bente Talseth-Palmer NSWPATH-Research@health.nsw.gov.au NSW Health Pathology
Dr Paula Bray paula.bray@health.nsw.gov.au SCHN
SCHN Research Office SCHN-ResearchGrants@health.nsw.gov.au
Rina Ward rina.ward@health.nsw.gov.au SESLHD
Nicola Yates nicola.yates@health.nsw.gov.au SNSWLHD
A/Prof Philip Cunningham philip.cunningham@svha.org.au SVHN
Rachel Goldrick SWSLHD-ResearchDirectorate@health.nsw.gov.au SWSLHD
Penelope Schmidt penelope.schmidt@health.nsw.gov.au SLHD
Alice Munro Alice.Munro@health.nsw.gov.au WNSWLHD
Teesta Saksena teesta.saksena@health.nsw.gov.au
WNSWLHD Research Office WNSWLHD-ResearchOffice@health.nsw.gov.au
Stephen Schibeci stephen.schibeci@health.nsw.gov.au WSLHD

About the grants scheme

The Translational Research Grants Scheme (TRGS) provides grants to staff employed within local health districts, specialty health networks, NSW Ambulance and NSW Health Pathology.

The scheme is designed to build research capability and accelerate evidence translation within the NSW public health system.

A NSW Health employee of a host organisation within the health system must lead the project.

The Program commenced in 2016 and has since funded 80 projects over six rounds to a total of $40 million.

Applicants may include:

  • medical staff
  • nursing staff
  • allied health professionals
  • population health practitioners

Before you apply

Information videos

The following information videos:

  • outline the intent of the Scheme
  • assist with the development of high quality applications
  • provide insight into what reviewers are looking for in applications.

Expressions of Interest examples

Example applications have been developed to demonstrate the type of information needed at the Expression of Interest stage.

The examples below include different study types, across different stages of the Translational Research Framework. The Source Book to the Translational Research Framework also provides additional information that might be useful when planning your research.

These are guides only.

Feasibility and effectiveness study

Effectiveness study

Effectiveness and scalability

Applicant checklist

The following checklist will assist in assessing the strength of your TRGS application.

Translational Research Grant Scheme applicant checklist

Guidelines and application forms

Please see the guidelines and application forms from TRGS Round 6.

  • Translational Research Grant Scheme Round 6 EOI Form (version 3)

    DOCX - 112 KB

The Full Application form will be emailed to applicants who progress to the next stage.

Educational resources

Educational resources area available to provide guidance in:

  • designing a research study
  • analysing research data
  • translating research findings
  • commercialising research ideas

 

View educational resources

Engaging partners

Host organisations must identify and engage relevant partners to support effective delivery of the research project and implementation of the outcomes in NSW.

Partners may include:

  • consumers, patients, or other ‘end users’
  • researchers from universities and medical research institutes
  • NSW Health Pillars
  • Statewide services
  • NSW Ministry of Health branches
  • other LHDs, SHNs, NSW Ambulance, and NSW Health Pathology
  • Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services
  • Primary Healthcare Networks
  • Health Research and Translation Centres
  • non-government organisations
  • Key contacts

    DOCX - 56 KB

TRGS 6 workshop presentations

Translational Research Grant Scheme round 6 information session webinar

 

Frequently asked questions

  • Translational Research Grants Scheme

Current and previous recipients

The project directory lists all research projects and/or devices that have received funding through the Office for Health and Medical Research

Search the project directory

To find out more

To receive the latest updates on this funding opportunity, please subscribe to our email list and select the ‘Grants’ interest area. If you are already subscribed, please update your profile by adding ‘Grants’ to your areas of interest.

Updated 2 months ago