Skip to main content

Translational Research Grants Scheme

Funds research projects that will translate into better patient outcomes, health service delivery, and population health and wellbeing

Dr Matt Johansen, Tuberculosis researcher at Centenary Institute

Round 8 Expressions of Interest (EOIs) are now open.

The timeline for TRGS Round 8 is outlined below.

Key dates

Milestone Date
EOIs open 19 February 2024
Information webinar for TRGS Coordinators and potential applicants 6 March 2024
EOIs due to TRGS Coordinator in each Host Organisation (see contact list below) 15 May 2024
EOIs close: due to Ministry of Health 3 July 2024
Applicants notified of EOI outcome
Full applications open
1 November 2024
Full applications due to TRGS Coordinator in each Host Organisation (see contact list below) 14 February 2025
Full applications close: due to Ministry of Health 7 March 2025
Applicants notified of full application outcome May 2025
Projects Commence June – July 2025

 

TRGS coordinator list

 

Name Email Host Organisation
Dr Katherine Bolton CCLHD-Research@health.nsw.gov.au CCLHD
Corey Sclater corey.sclater@health.nsw.gov.au FWLHD
Dr Kathryn Reilly Kathryn.Reilly@health.nsw.gov.au HNELHD
Janaye Fish

Olivia Notarianni

ISLHD-ResearchGovernance@health.nsw.gov.au ISLHD
Dr Julia Bowman Julia.Bowman@health.nsw.gov.au JHFMHN
Dr Reem Zeki Reem.Zeki@health.nsw.gov.au
Sharlene Goodhew Sharlene.Goodhew@health.nsw.gov.au
Barbara Taylor Barbara.Taylor@health.nsw.gov.au MLHD
Nicole Raschke Nicole.Raschke@health.nsw.gov.au MNCLHD
Dr Gary Low Gary.Low@health.nsw.gov.au NBMLHD
Dr Kelly Thompson Kelly.Thompson1@health.nsw.gov.au
Dr Alexandre Stephens Alexandre.Stephens@health.nsw.gov.au NNSWLHD
Rebeka Freckleton Rebeka.Freckleton@health.nsw.gov.au NSLHD
Dr Kimberley Davis AMBULANCE-ClinicalResearch@health.nsw.gov.au NSW Ambulance
Dr Bente Talseth-Palmer NSWPATH-Research@health.nsw.gov.au NSW Health Pathology
Dr Helen Goldsmith Helen.Goldsmith@health.nsw.gov.au SCHN
Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network Research Office SCHN-ResearchGrants@health.nsw.gov.au
Rhiannon Jewell SESLHD-TRGSCoordinator@health.nsw.gov.au SESLHD
Dr Pramesh Ghimire Pramesh.Ghimire@health.nsw.gov.au SNSWLHD
A/Prof Philip Cunningham Philip.Cunningham@svha.org.au SVHN
Rachel Goldrick SWSLHD-ResearchDirectorate@health.nsw.gov.au SWSLHD
Penelope Schmidt (on leave till 21/2/25) Penelope.Schmidt@health.nsw.gov.au SLHD
Samarth (Sam) Bhatia (till 21/2/25) Samarth.Bhatia@health.nsw.gov.au
Alice Munro Alice.Munro@health.nsw.gov.au WNSWLHD
Kerrie Noonan Kerrie.Noonan@health.nsw.gov.au
Western NSW Local Health District Research Office WNSWLHD-ResearchOffice@health.nsw.gov.au
Stephen Schibeci Stephen.Schibeci@health.nsw.gov.au WSLHD

Before you apply

Applicant checklist

The following checklist will assist in assessing the strength of your TRGS application.

Translational Research Grant Scheme applicant checklist

Guidelines and application forms

Please see the guidelines and application forms for TRGS Round 8.

  • Translational Research Grants Scheme Round 8 EOI Form (version 1)

    DOCX - 134 KB

  • Translational Research Grants Scheme Round 8 Full Application Form (version 1)

    DOCX - 161 KB

  • Translational Research Grants Scheme Round 8 ‘Request for Partnering Organisation Approval’ form (version 1)

    DOCX - 87 KB

Educational resources

Educational resources area available to provide guidance in:

  • designing a research study
  • analysing research data
  • translating research findings
  • commercialising research ideas

 

View educational resources

Engaging partners

Host organisations must identify and engage relevant partners to support effective delivery of the research project and implementation of the outcomes in NSW.

Partners may include:

  • Clinicians, patients and other ‘end users’
  • Researchers from universities and medical research institutes
  • NSW Health Pillars
  • Health Organisations
    • NSW Ambulance
    • NSW Health Pathology
    • HealthShare NSW
    • eHealth NSW (Guide for partnership)
    • Health Infrastructure
    • Health Protection NSW
  • NSW Ministry of Health branches
  • other LHDs, SHNs
  • LHD Aboriginal Health Units and Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services
  • Primary Healthcare Networks
  • Advanced Health Research and Translation Centres
  • Clinical networks
  • Research networks (e.g., NSW Cardiovascular Research Network)
  • Industry
  • Non-government organisations

TRGS round 8 workshop presentations

 

Frequently asked questions

  • Translational Research Grants Scheme

Useful resources from previous TRGS rounds

Information videos

The following information videos:

  • outline the intent of the Scheme
  • assist with the development of high quality applications
  • provide insight into what reviewers are looking for in applications.

Expressions of Interest examples

Example applications have been developed to demonstrate the type of information needed at the Expression of Interest stage.

The examples below include different study types, across different stages of the Translational Research Framework. The Source Book to the Translational Research Framework also provides additional information that might be useful when planning your research.

These are guides only.

Feasibility and effectiveness study

Effectiveness study

Effectiveness and scalability

Current and previous recipients

The project directory lists all research projects and/or devices that have received funding through the Office for Health and Medical Research.

Search the project directory

Updated 1 month ago